Skip to content

Discover summer reading lists for all ages & interests!

Find Your Next Read

Book

Restructure Your Reading Behavior

 

Restructure Your Reading Behavior

We live in days where time cannot be measured in twenty-four hour patterns, and we chase after it to catch up. We start the day by jumping out of bed, and we race against time to always "do what we need to do" throughout the day. Maybe in order to achieve this, we sleep less, eat less, and experience ourselves less. At the end of the day, we have the opportunity to listen to our own voice in only a few hours.So, should he seize this opportunity by falling asleep on the soft couch? Should we be immersed in fast-flowing visuals on color screens? Or by sitting at the beginning of the book that we always wanted to read but couldn't find the time to open the cover? Perhaps for most of us, the last option remains a desire that is always postponed to an unknown time. However, it is possible to sprinkle reading into every moment of life and experience how productive time is. This requires making reading a habit.At White Rain Book House, we've brought together the best books for adults to start the reading habit.

sherlock holmes

1.Sherlock Holmes: His Greatest Cases: 5-Volume Box Set Edition

The most amazing Sherlock Holmes cases are collected in this attractive five-volume box set, which is housed in a distinctive case and has gorgeous modern cover artwork. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle is without a doubt the greatest detective of all time, as evidenced by this excellent collection of his key works. It is a fantastic Sherlock Holmes primer. A Study in Scarlet and The Sign of the Four are two novels you'll find inside, along with four other fascinating volumes. The adventures of Sherlock Holmes and his sidekick Dr. Watson can provide hours of entertainment for the armchair investigator. A Study in Scarlet and The Sign of the Four, The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes, The Return of Sherlock Holmes, and The Last Arc are all included in this collection.If you are asking yourself the question of how to gain the habit of reading books, this series will connect you with both its appearance and content.

anna karenina

2.Anna Karenina

One of the most well-known works of literature in the entire world is Leo Tolstoy's classic tale of a doomed romance. Her lovely protagonist, the unhappy married Anna Karenina, and her sad connection with the handsome Count Vronsky have enthralled generations of readers. Tolstoy's epic is one of Maggie Gyllenhaal's all-time favorite books, and her love of literature is evident in her portrayal of her in The Dark Knight and Honorable Woman. Aside from the fascinating woman at its center and the brutal drama of her fate, Anna Karenina is a classic because it delves into and sheds light on the most important issues surrounding how to have a meaningful life.For anyone looking for a series of novels for beginners, give this must-read classic a try.

Girl In Pieces

3.Girl In Pieces

It's too late for Charlotte Davis. He has already suffered more losses at the age of 17 than most individuals have in their entire lifetime. However, she has mastered forgetting. Sorrow is destroyed by broken glass until only tranquility remains. You are not required to consider your father or the river. Your closest friend is lost for good. Or your mother, who is powerless to help. Charlie's heart gets a little bit harder with each fresh wound, but it still hurts a lot. Sometimes she needs to lose all concern before she can find her way back from the brink because it hurts so much. A very moving depiction of a young girl's struggle to survive in a society that has advanced greatly without her.Kathleen Glasgow's debut film is heartbreakingly real and unflinchingly honest.One of the most inspiring books for beginners, this is a story you can't take your eyes off of.

the seven husbands

4.The Seven Husbands Of Evelyn Hugo

Hollywood cinema legend Evelyn Hugo, who is aging and reclusive, is now prepared to open up about her dazzling and scandalous life. However, no one is more shocked than Monique Grant herself when a fictitious magazine writer selects her for the position. Monique isn't exactly in the best possible shape. Her professional life is at a dead end because her husband left her. Monique is determined to seize this chance to launch her career, no matter why Evelyn chose her to write her biography. Monique, who was invited into Evelyn's opulent apartment, listens in awe as the actress shares her tale.From her arrival in Los Angeles in the 1950s through her choice to quit the entertainment industry in the 1980s, Evelyn relates a narrative of relentless ambition, an unexpected friendship, and a big forbidden love. Of course, there were seven marriages along the way. As Evelyn's story comes to a climax, it becomes apparent that Monique and Evelyn's lives have tragically and irrevocably intermingled. Despite this, Monique starts to feel a very deep connection to the iconic figure.

the forgotten bookshop in paris

5.The Forgotten Bookshop In Paris

Paris, 1940: The city of love is in the path of war. Jacques must stand by and observe as the Nazis take away all the values while being forced into hiding from his wife. Everything but her cherished bookstore, La Page Cachée, the final glimmer of hope. However, she realizes that her only choice is to risk everything once more in order to save a life when a young mother and her kid come to her door one night and ask for sanctuary.In the present, Juliette and her husband have at last made it to France for the romantic holiday of their dreams, but as the days pass, all she notices is how much they have separated. She yearns for a fresh experience, so when she discovers a little, deserted store with a sale sign in the window, it feels like fate. Fans of Kate Quinn and Rachel Hore will like this poignant story of love and wartime loss.Don't miss out on one of the best books to start reading for adults.

a court of mist and fury

6.A Court Of Mist And Fury

More trials have been passed by Feyre than a human woman can bear. Although he now possesses the abilities and longevity of the Supreme Fae, his time spent Under the Mountain and the horrific acts he committed to rescue Tamlin and his people's lives still haunt him. As the date of Feyre's marriage to Tamlin draws near, she is consumed with emptiness and dreams. She is split between two people: one who keeps to her side of the contract she made with Rhysand, the Supreme Lord of the Feared Night Palace, and the other who lives with Tamlin in the Spring Court.A bigger evil lurks as Feyre negotiates a complex web of politics, passion, and brilliant power. She might hold the secret to stopping this, but only if she can make use of her unsettling talents, mend her broken heart, and choose how she wants to live her life as well as the life of a planet in upheaval.The masterful storytelling of best-selling author Sarah J. Maas, this second book in a dazzling, sexy, action-packed series stands out among the must-read books to get started on the reading habit.

normal people

7.Normal People

The only similarity between Connell and Marianne is that they both grew up in a tiny town. Connell is well-liked and popular at school, but Marianne is by herself. A life-altering talk between the two, however, sparks off a bizarre but intriguing event. They are both enrolled in classes at Dublin's Trinity College a year later. Connell observes, reserved and unsure, as Marianne enters a new social setting. Throughout their time at the university, Marianne and Connell constantly veer away from one another in favor of other people and opportunities, but they remain attracted to and drawn to one another. Each must decide how far they are ready to go to save the other as he drifts into self-destruction and the guy starts to look for significance elsewhere.Normal People is a story of mutual admiration, friendship and love. It takes us years after that first conversation, in the company of two people trying to stay apart but realizing they can't, and it's one of the best books for adults to start the reading habit.

november 9

8.November 9

One day before his planned nationwide move, Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist. Their timeless charm leads Fallon to spend her last day in Los Angeles together, and Fallon's eventful life is the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amid the various relationships and troubles of their separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date each year. Until one day, Fallon isn't sure if Ben is telling him the truth or just concocting a perfect reality for the ultimate turn of the plot.Those looking for novels for beginners will find the answer to this question, whether Ben's relationship with Fallon, as well as his novel, can be considered a love story if it ends in heartbreak.

a world of curiosities

9.A World Of Curiosities

Nothing that sleeps shall awaken. However, there is something.

As the townspeople get ready for a special celebration, Armand Gamache and Jean-Guy Beauvoir become more concerned. A young man and woman resurface in the life of the Sûreté du Québec detectives years later. When their unstable mother was killed, both of them were still very young, leaving them scarred and broken. They have now arrived in Three Pines village.Gamache and Beauvoir instantly recall the horrible incident that brought them together in the first place. Did their mother's murder leave them permanently scarred? Have the awful wounds that have been covered up for years gotten infected and are going to erupt? When a letter from a long-dead stonemason surfaced, Chief Inspector Gamache's concern increased as he tried to find the answers. The man writes of his horrifying encounter while weaving in a hamlet attic room. The 160-year-old letter is dripping with anxiety in every word. The villagers choose to enter the room after discovering it. An old foe is unleashed into their world as they unlock that room. their lives. went directly into Armand Gamache's residence.

Solito

10.Solito: A Memoir

Javier, who is nine years old, can only dream of being flung into his parents' arms, cuddling in bed with them, and returning to his family's home. He doesn't realize that these two weeks will turn into two life-changing months as his immigrant friends surround him like an unanticipated family, nor does he know about the risky boat rides, exhausting desert journeys, pointed guns, arrests, and deceptions that lie ahead of him.A brief and honest account of not only a perilous and nearly impossible voyage but also the miraculous generosity and love that occur in the most unexpected circumstances is provided in Solito, a book that is as engrossing as it is gripping. Javier Zamora's tale, as well as the stories of the millions of people who are forced to abandon their homes, are told in Solito.It will definitely be an example that will attract the attention of book lovers who are looking for interesting books to read.

Loving reading and making it a lifestyle can be one of the greatest favors you can do for yourself. That's why at White Rain Book House the best books for adults to start reading habits have gathered.

Prev Post
Next Post
Someone recently bought a

Thanks for subscribing!

This email has been registered!

Shop the look

Choose Options

Edit Option
this is just a warning
Login
Shopping Cart
0 items
0%

Before you leave...

Take 20% off your first order

20% off

Enter the code below at checkout to get 20% off your first order

CODESALE20

Continue Shopping